I should have blogged this around Tuesday or Wednesday, but in all honesty, I just didn’t feel like blogging this week for some reason. Before I go any further, I’d just like to warn you that images used in this post may either offend or if you’re squeamish and have a weak stomach, you may not want to see them.

As per usual, my mum brought a load of magazines she had read and in one of them, a story about this guy called Dede. Due toDede not posting this at the time I was going to and the magazine already at the recycling plant, I can’t quite remember the full details of the story, but he’s from Thailand or there about and he has some kind of rare skin disease that has baffled doctors and there doesn’t appear to be any cure for it.

Dede GroupHis mum can only put some kind of oil on his skin to help ease it somehow and he has to have help with things because of his grotesquely deformed hands. He apparently travels with a few others known as the Association of Strange People, although, the one guy isn’t really that strange, he’s just tall.

I tried to look up more stuff about this, but with the lack of info from the magazine article, I didn’t really have much to go on, so if anyone happens to read this and know if there’s anything about this on the internet, let us know as although it’s pretty gross, it’s quite fascinating too.

Bookmark with del.icio.us Digg it, man

4 thoughts on “Freaky Dede

  1. Great blog aceman, I too had no luck finding anything on the web about this group of freaks either! It took me a few searches till I found this blog! 😀

    I read about this Dede fella in Bizarre Magazine, that mag you saw them in has just ripped off Bizarre’s photo’s clumsily editing out Bizarre’s reporter from the group photo.! 😀

    Anyway, really enjoyed your blog some great pics on here. Why don’t you drop in and see us at http://www.morningstarr.co.uk I think you’d fit right in with us oddballs. 🙂

  2. Dede lives in Indonesia. He is one of 2 people in the world known to have an advanced case of this horrible disease, which is the result of a genetic flaw. Dede has no immunity to a common type of Human Papilloma Virus, so the warts on his body have grown out of control.
    A man in Romania also has this disease and is getting help. You can read about him here: http://blog.wfmu.org/freeform/2007/03/missionary_enco.html
    and here: http://petricapatilea.directnews.ro/bird-man/

    Did the article about Dede mention that he is getting help? Was there any mention of him being the subject of an upcoming documentary on the Discovery Channel?

  3. As I mention in the post, due to posting later than planned, the magazine had been sent for recycling, so I couldn’t recall everything that was said in the article.

    There wasn’t a lot to go on since it kind of only mentioned where he was from and that there was no known cure and the only help he was getting was from his mother who could only try to soothe the condition with an oil.

    As for any upcoming documentaries, nothing was mentioned, although, it would be interesting to see it if one was made.

Comments are closed.