Project 021/365: I Reckon This Doesn’t Work

Just for the sake of it, I thought I’d try out the Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning demo on my laptop, it was a bit of a long shot, mainly due to graphical limitations as you’re recommended to use a card with 512 MB of RAM, I only have 256 MB of dedicated RAM and so, as you can imagine, there were problems.

Reckoning Reward 01 Reckoning Reward 02 Reckoning Reward 03

I got the rewards for starting the demo, but it didn’t get much better than that, I couldn’t see anything of the opening sequence, just for creating my character and giving it (her) a name.

Reckoning Blank FMV

Once I’d skipped the opening sequence, it seems my poor old laptop is capable of only showing the onscreen GUI and not the actual game itself.

ingame

The odd thing was, I could press the Esc key to open up the menu and see my character, make changes in the options and (luckily) quit the demo.

Reckoning Character Screen

My specs as uploaded to Xfire:

Manufacturer:
Acer
Processor:
AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M300 (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory:
4096MB RAM
Hard Drive:
237 GB
Video Card:
AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200
Sound Card:
Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Speakers/Headphones:
Basic 2.0 setup
Keyboard:
Laptop
Mouse:
Logitech MX510
Mouse Surface:
Standard mousepad
Operating System:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)

{Edit} It turns out that turning off Post Processing can help with the blank screen problem, something to do with ATi cards, apparently.

