Have you ever lied about your age? Why?

Screw You, Jack Thompson

Image by BrotherMagneto via Flickr

Although this is a suggested topic, it kind of ties in with what has apparently caused a bit of a stir lately on TV. A program where a woman goes around shops to judge them on their service and whatnot, went into GAME, a shop that sells mostly videogames and was apparently appalled that the guy behind the counter asked for ID and refused to sell the game to that person.

I’ve lied about my age, even as early as 11 when I managed to get into a nightclub on holiday and I’ve tended to get away with it most of the time since I looked older, but not for games. I believe that shops/stores should ask for ID if the game is rated 15 or 18 and the buyer looks less than the appropriate age and I also believe that the parents should take responsibility for buying games that are suitable for their children. I don’t buy games for my kids that are out of their age range or not recommended for them, it’s got nothing to do with the ignorant, “ah it won’t hurt them” because, to be honest, it may not hurt them, but other kids due to the child playing violent games lashing out and harming others.

I’m far from being the next Jack Thompson, but I do think most kids can be affected by some videogames. I’m not saying you should buy your son Babysitting Mama (unless he really wants it), just to get games that are age-appropriate. Believe it or not, kids do inadvertently act out and they only copy what they see others do, you know, monkey see, monkey do?! An example can be if they see their dad hitting their mother on a regular basis, it can affect the kid into thinking it’s ok to hit women, I’m not saying they will grow up to be violent rapists, but it will have an effect on their lives.

Let’s not go off a tangent here, the main point of the post is if you’ve lied about your age and I think the main reasons why are;

  1. To get alcohol.
  2. To get cigarettes.
  3. When an older male/female is interested in you.

Bonus: Do you think they believed you?

Most of the time, yes. I got away with buying cigarettes at a young age, mainly because there wasn’t really a strict law as to how old you needed to be. Got away with being able to drink in pubs from around 14 because I seemed 18 at the time and (can’t believe I’m going to say this) when I was 15, I had sex with a 23-year-old and said I was 20, so yeah, I think I was quite believable lol.

