So, The Oscars, Eh…

The Social Network

Image via Wikipedia

Well the nominations are in and it’s no surprise that most people probably haven’t seen most of the films that are nominated. Here’s my brief take on things…

Best picture

  • “Black Swan” – Apparently very good, but not a front runner.
  • The Fighter” – I hadn’t really heard of this as it didn’t really shout out at me.
  • “The King’s Speech” – Looks boring as shit to me…
  • “127 Hours” – Based on a Real-Life™ event of some guy getting stuck for 5 days before taking drastic measures, quite critically acclaimed.
  • “The Social Network” – Well, we all knew ‘Facebook: The Movie’ was gonna be nominated.
  • “Toy Story 3” – As epic as it is, this will probably just win Best Animation.
  • “True Grit” – I’ve only seen the classic version, can’t really comment on this.
  • “Winter’s Bone” – Never heard of it.


Actor

  • Javier Bardem, “Biutiful” – Since he’s from a foriegn language film, I know not of him.
  • Jeff Bridges, “True Grit” – Good ol’ Jeff is back in the game and deserves a nod.
  • Jesse Eisenberg, “The Social Network” – Besides being an obvious nominee, who else thought he looks more likely to be Mark Zuckerberg than Mark Zuckerberg himself?
  • Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech” – Boring film, not interested.
  • James Franco, “127 Hours” – Not too sure if he should have been nominated really, hardly the most challenging role.

Actress

  • Annette Bening, “The Kids Are All Right” – Quite the attractive, middle-aged babe. Still dunno about the film though.
  • Nicole Kidman, “Rabbit Hole” – Only seen brief glimpses of a trailer to the film, so can’t comment… I don’t think she’s that good, personally.
  • Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone” – Don’t know her or the film.
  • Natalie Portman, “Black Swan” – Probably the most likely to win.
  • Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine” –  Who? What?

Supporting actor

  • Christian Bale, “The Fighter” – Not seen the film yet, but I don’t think Bale is that good.
  • John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone” – Don’t know the guy, so can’t comment.
  • Jeremy Renner, “The Town” – Not a bad actor, was good in The Hurt Locker, but I had to force myself to watch all of The Town. Sorry, I got bored halfway through due to its high predictability factor.
  • Mark Ruffalo, “The Kids Are All Right” – Can’t say I’ve heard of him.
  • Geoffrey Rush, “The King’s Speech” – Apparently the favourite to win. Probably mostly known for Pirates of the Caribbean.

Supporting actress

  • Amy Adams, “The Fighter” – Played Amelia Earhart in Night at the Museum 2, other than that, dunno.
  • Helena Bonham Carter, “The King’s Speech” – I’ve always thought that she is so beautiful, but she has a habit of playing in perioid dramas that bore the piss out of me.
  • Melissa Leo, “The Fighter” – Don’t know her.
  • Hailee Steinfeld, “True Grit” – Newbie. She’s only 14, so not known for anything yet.
  • Jacki Weaver, “Animal Kingdom” – I don’t even.

Director

  • Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan”             |
  • David O. Russell, “The Fighter”              |
  • Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”        |-  I never really take any notice of who directed what, so I don’t care.
  • David Fincher, “The Social Network”     |
  • Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, “True Grit” |

Animated feature

  • “How to Train Your Dragon” – Great film, don’t think it’ll win though.
  • “The Illusionist” – Not heard of this.
  • “Toy Story 3” – Might as well give it the Oscar now, I think we all know it stands the nest chance.
