I Have a Suit

Man getting dressed.

Image via Wikipedia

Why is that worthy of being the title of the post? I’ve never had one before, never needed one and usually just wore what I got married in, even the trousers (pants to US people) were the only ones I owned.

As previously mentioned, my Grandad passed away recently and I needed something to go to his funeral in, I couldn’t exactly turn up in my usual clobber of jeans, trainers, t-shirt and whatever, so today, I finally got a suit which is the first and only one I’ve ever had. The jacket and trousers I got married in weren’t technically a suit, more just a jacket and trousers that were separates, but now I have a ‘proper’ matching suit.

I’m not in the habit of wearing trousers, as I said, I only have one pair and the rest are jeans, tracksuit bottoms and an oversize pair of outdoor combat activity type things and it’s kind of the same with shoes. I don’t really have a pair of shoes since I don’t like wearing them, I have boots in the form of Sgt Pepper and Rockport, but not shoes as in loafer style or something.

I have shirts, maybe two white ones and the rest are casual, but I have a nice Jasper Conran shirt that I’ll wear and just need a decent black tie, I tried on the tie earlier today and it’s pretty poor quality, so I’ll need to look around to see about getting a nicer one, maybe even see if I can get a designer one.

