Set Your Facebook Places Privacy, How To Opt Out [Updated]

As you may have already seen, Facebook Places is the new topic of conversation around the internet at the moment due to it only being launched a few hours ago, but did you know that it’s already integrated with your profile?

It’s not an app you can add at your own discretion, it’s built-in and ready to go, whether you like it or not, but if you don’t want to be involved with Facebook Places (and there are many privacy and security reasons not to use the feature), then here is how to select the right settings.

FacebookPlaces

As you can see in the image after going into the Privacy settings and clicking on Customise settings, from the top; you can choose who you want to see where you’ve checked in, this is the usual choice of Everybody, Friends, etc. The Next option is “People Here Now”, that means you can check-in other people that are with you so that they don’t have to, but other people can check you in too, that’s where the drop-down box at the bottom comes in.

If you don’t want people you’re with to check you in, select ‘Disable’, but if you don’t mind having friends broadcasting that you’re somewhere with them, then obviously select ‘Enable’. As with all privacy options, if you don’t want anyone to see anything, select ‘Customise’ from the drop-down menu and select ‘Only me’ from the drop-down menu in the pop-up box.

With just a few simple steps, you can completely disable Facebook Places by disallowing it any access at all:

FacebookPlacesAppnWeb
In Privacy Settings at the bottom of the screen, click the ‘Edit your settings’ link for Applications and websites.

FacebookPlacesAccEdit
Click the Edit settings button of ‘Information accessible through your friends’.

FacebookPlacesInfoAccess
Finally, uncheck the ‘Places I check in to’ box and then Save Changes, Facebook Places should be deactivated.

It should be pretty straight forward to the average Facebook user and this is just a quick guide on how to do it, I’m not exactly a Facebook Guru and therefore won’t be able to help with anything too technical. Checking Facebook Help may have solutions to any other problems you may have!

[Edit] Updated the ‘Info accessible through your friends’ image and text accordingly.

Advertisements