May 31st is apparently Quit Facebook Day, not just deactivate, but totally quit and delete the account.
How do you do that? Well it couldn’t be simpler;
- Go to http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account
- Click Submit
- Enter password, then Captcha words
- Do not log in for 14 days, repeat DO NOT log in for 14 days
After that, your account should be completely deleted, that means all apps, photos and whatever else should be removed and not be able to be accessed ever again.
You should receive an email like this:
Hi (your name),
We have received a request to permanently delete your account. Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days.
If you did not request to permanently delete your account, follow this link to cancel this request:
The Facebook Team
Have you been meaning to quit for some time and haven’t gotten around to it? It’s kinda like smoking, it will take some willpower to quit completely and remember to log out from any mobile devices you may use, mobile phones tend to auto-login if the user has set them to save password or ‘remember me’ and don’t forget any apps that can be used to access Facebook.
Tweetdeck, ShoZu, Digsby and similar apps can be used to sign into Facebook chat, keep up with the feed and change statuses, so remember to remove any Facebook details or they will login when you use them and possibly mess up the deletion process.
According to sources on the internet, over 11,000 have already quit, why don’t you get a life and quit too?! 😉