The Sims Online, the point?

So, I was elated when discovering that The Sims Online had become free to play, so I suffered the slow download of around 1.4GB and managed to get online last Saturday.

Me in The Sims Online

Then I discover that people like me with ‘free’ accounts can’t work to earn money, the only way to earn money is to either to do odd jobs for paying subscribers or sell custom content. The odd jobs part could be pretty difficult since most people would just do it themselves and/or be low paid, but custom content? I’m not exactly sure what you could offer that hasn’t already been made or done, so I’m beginning to wonder what the point of it is.

I’d prefer it if it was like offline where you build up skills, get a job, buy stuff and so on. The only thing you can do is go to ‘welcome’ houses which generous people let you hang out at to skill up and basically do what you do in the offline version, but I think I would enjoy it a lot more if it was possible to go to work, earn enough Simoleons to buy a plot of land and build a house, etc etc without having to pay, it seems silly that you have to have a paid subscription in order for you to work and earn money… 😕

